University of the Free State

The University of the Free State is a multi campus public university in Bloemfontein, the capital of the Free State and the judicial capital of South Africa. It was first established as an institution of higher learning in 1904 as a tertiary portion of Grey College. It was declared an independent Afrikaans-language university in 1950 and the name was changed to the University of the Orange Free State. The university has two satellite campuses. Initially a whites-only precinct, the university was fully de-segregated in 1996. The first black university vice-chancellor was appointed in 2010.

From a humble start in 1904, the UFS became a well-known institution, boasting 164 NRF-accredited researchers and 2 521 staff members. Students can participate in 22 different sport disciplines and study from 671 182 library books, including 14 000 ebooks. Their ever-expanding facilities and knowledge base present many opportunities for scholars to impact locally and globally.

The UFS is a research-led, student-centred and regionally-engaged university that contributes to development and social justice through the production of globally competitive graduates and knowledge.

Their vision and mission help them to ‘keep their eye on the ball’. This is where they start when they make decisions, plan their future, and evaluate what they have done.

The University of the Free State is a Public university located in Bloemfontein.
The University of the Free State was founded in 1904.
The current president of University of the Free State is Prof Bonang Mohale.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in South Africa.

Location of University of the Free State