Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Cape Peninsula University of Technology was formed in January 2005 from the merger of the Cape Technikon and Peninsula Technikon, following years of change in the higher education landscape of South Africa. In 1993, the Technikons Act was promulgated, which allowed technikons to offer Bachelor's degrees (B.Tech), Master's and Doctoral degrees in Technology. In March 2001, Kader Asmal (then Minister of Education) announced the National Plan on Higher Education, and in May 2002 he announced the possible merger of the two institutions, with the national working committee also recommending the University of the Western Cape to be included in the merger. Towards the end of 2002, the final merger was announced, and in October 2003 the new name was approved. 

To be at the heart of technology education and innovation in Africa.


The four aims that comprise our mission:
  • We will build a university that is highly efficient, sustainable and environmentally conscious
  • We will be known for the high quality of our teaching and learning and the relevance of our curriculum
  • We will create a vibrant and well resourced living and learning environment for our students
  • We will enhance and develop the quality and effectiveness of our research and knowledge production

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology is a Public university located in Cape Town.
The Cape Peninsula University of Technology was founded in 2005.
The current president of Cape Peninsula University of Technology is Dr Chris Nhlapo.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in South Africa.

Location of Cape Peninsula University of Technology